4 replies to this topic

#1 Ado1379

Ado1379

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 588 posts

Posted 01 February 2020 - 12:00 PM

I’ve managed to pick up a 12G295 head for £15!

I’m looking at building it from the ground up and I’m looking for advice on valves, stems and the like. I’m not interested in porting as I know when I’m out of my depth ? all valve seats will be re cut and head will be skimmed by the local pro so I’m just wondering what bits to get. I have removed and refitted head before but that’s about it so I’m a total novice when it comes things like this.

I will be reading up in the mean time but where better to find knowledge than the famous TMF page right?

#2 DeadSquare

DeadSquare

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,764 posts
  • Local Club: Unipower GT Owners Club

Posted 01 February 2020 - 12:08 PM

If you are not going to reprofile the ports and chambers, "The Local Pro" will fit you up with standard valves, guides and tougher springs.

#3 blacktulip

blacktulip

Crazy About Mini's

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,221 posts

Posted 01 February 2020 - 02:51 PM

Do you know what spec the rest of your engine will be yet? As you need to think about this before working on the head. You need to think about the cam profile and the compression ratio you wish to run to determine what cc the chambers need to be to achieve this.

#4 Spider

Spider

Moved Into The Garage

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,920 posts
  • Local Club: South Australian Moke Club

Posted 01 February 2020 - 05:05 PM

First thing you will want to do before spending any money on it is have it crack tested. These heads were not prone to cracking, but it's not out of the question.