Photo

A+ Engine Rebuild - Should I Even Consider It?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Richie83

Richie83

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,494 posts

Posted 08 February 2020 - 05:20 PM

I’m after some advice. Today I was lucky enough to pick up two A+ engines in need of rebuild. One of the engines has a shot gearbox. The other in need of piston rings amongst many other things. They are in a state for sure And as a total novice ive no idea where to start if I were to rebuild them.

What would I need to do? What would you do?

I’ve no need to build them at all by the way (touch wood) but kind of like the challenge.

iT4irXk.jpg

#2 mab01uk

mab01uk

Moved Into The Garage

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,804 posts
  • Local Club: Mini Cooper Register

Posted 08 February 2020 - 05:35 PM

Try to get an original or copy of this DVD in links below......after over 4 hours of watching it you should have a good idea of what is involved in re-building an A-Series engine & gearbox, the tools required and whether you are up for the challenge:-

https://www.amazon.c...0/dp/B002HRYFSM

"Ultimate Mini Builder 1380 A series. Ultimate Mini Builder - 1380cc A-series is your comprehensive guide to building a high performance fast-road 1380cc A-series engine. With over four hours of in-depth footage, watch as Mini expert Bill Sollis strips a Metro 1275cc unit and then rebuilds it to 1380cc with all the perfect components for long-lasting and reliable power! And to prove the result, we run the engine on a dyno - revealing over 100bhp and 100lbs/ft of torque."

http://www.minispare...assic/T373.aspx

Edited by mab01uk, 08 February 2020 - 05:38 PM.

#3 bpirie1000

bpirie1000

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,119 posts
  • Local Club: Amoc

Posted 08 February 2020 - 06:04 PM

As above.... also shows you how the gearbox works.

#4 sledgehammer

sledgehammer

Up Into Fourth