Photo
- - - - -

Starting Problems 1992 Boc 1275

Best Answer gazza82 , 12 February 2020 - 10:22 AM

The offset on the distributor drive isn't always clear to see ..

I've also been told of someone who to sort his timing problem was to move the drive dog on the distributor by 180 degrees. This caused the next purchaser of that engine no end of fun .. !

Turn the engine so no 1 is TDC on the firing stroke (valves closed). Then look at the position of the rotor arm which should be pointing to 1-2pm direction ..

Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Indy495

Indy495

On The Road

• Just Joined
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted 11 February 2020 - 04:24 PM

Hi mini people,

my son and I are stumped with why our engine will not start. I’m no expert,so be patient!!!!

we bought the car from a known source, who had taken the engine out. We have no reason to doubt him when he said it was running. We have had the head off and the bores looked great. We have re-ground the valves and put new valve seals in place. The head was then replaced with new gaskets all round. 
we were very careful to reinstall the distributor for elec ignition and get the timing as close as possible as per the various topics on this forum.

the carb has been refurbished by a professional as it was beyond our capabilities 

the engine has been reinstalled after all the body work was complete. We are thrilled to get to this stage after a year of graft. 

fresh fuel has been put in the car and this has been flushed through the fuel pipe until it ran clean. 

a new battery has been fitted

we have fuel and a good spark but he will not fire up.  
I have double checked the timing as per a topic on here, and took the attached photos. 

its been 3 days of staring at him and trying different things, but still no good??

it makes a popping/banging noise via the exhaust and occasionally back through the carb.