#1 J400cbs

J400cbs

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 February 2020 - 03:07 AM

Hi all.

Well I’ve come to a stage in my life where I need a new hobby. I have always done all my work to my own cars, servicing and repairs but I’m looking for a bit more now.

I am a mechanical engineer so I like to think I am at a decent level when it comes to mechanical machinery and the likes, but I’ve never built/rebuilt an engine.

A friend of mine has advised me to start with an A series engine as they are meant to be a very simple engine and great for learning. Would you agree or am I dreaming?

I have the opportunity of a couple of engines, an 850 which is seized, or a 998 which is a complete engine and is free moving but apparently does require a rebuild.

I’m looking for some pointers really to get me started. I have been researching over the last six months and think I may now be ready to start. I’m not looking at a time frame to complete this project, I’m happy for it to last me a couple of years or longer.

Thank you for reading and I look forward to some positive feedback.

Thank you

#2 Stealth72

Stealth72

Passed Test

• Just Joined
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 14 February 2020 - 06:47 AM

Get both. Do a regular rebuild on the 998 (as it requires standard rebuild work and you will learn the basic skills required), keep the 850 as a project, you will learn something from un-seizing it - even if it ends up being scrap you can still ‘play’ at head porting, carb rebuilding etc.

#3 jeffster06

jeffster06

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 113 posts

Posted 14 February 2020 - 01:27 PM