20 replies to this topic

#1 Denz100

Denz100

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 23 February 2020 - 06:31 PM

Hi, I’m currently (slowly) rebuilding a mini, shell is stripped and been blasted and being welded, but the spray is going to be on hold for a long while. So I’ve started stripping a 1098, some tuning is planned, a 295 head, cam, +60 thou bore, pistons plus other bits,( if any of this seems wrong please say I am a novice and going on what I’ve read and heard)
The question is which carb would be best or neither, I was given an su 1 1-2” carb with the car but needs to be refurbished, but I was also given twin 1 1/4” Webber’s and a polished manifold with heat shields that were refurbished a number of years ago and never fitted. Would either of these be able to fit, would I need a different head? Or is there a better option?

Any advice will be much appreciated

#2 blacktulip

blacktulip

Crazy About Mini's

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,221 posts

Posted 23 February 2020 - 08:47 PM

I would be looking at sticking to the 1 1/2" su you have and just rebuilding it or going for a hif38 which is also around 1 1/2" (38mm to be precise). The pros with the hif38 is it has the fuel bowl integral so no fuel starvation on hard cornering. The cons are it needs to be fitted to a shallow depth inlet so it can clear the bulkhead. The mg metro inlet is perfect for this.

#3 Cooperman

Cooperman

Uncle Cooperman, Voted Mr TMF 2011

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,039 posts
  • Local Club: MCR, HAMOC, Chelmsford M.C.

Posted 23 February 2020 - 10:41 PM

A pair of HS2's would work well on a nicely flowed and matched alloy manifold. Once set-up properly they will give excellent throttle response and good smooth power right through the rev range up to around 6000 rpm.

With a 1098 you don't want to be regularly going much over around 6200 rpm due to the crankshaft limitations of the 1098.

#4 Spitz

Spitz