#1 dunkyb

dunkyb

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts

Posted 04 March 2020 - 09:44 PM

Hi all,

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction. My ‘98 Mini’s reverse lights are always on (with ignition). I disconnected and removed the reversing light switch on the gear selector housing, yet the lights were still on!

This suggests there’s a short? If so, any clues as how to find it? Haynes manual says fuse C6 circuit is shared with stop lights and reverse lights. Brake lights and everything else seem to work ok.

Tested the switch whilst it was out and also managed to blow the fuse whilst under the car, so definitely power running to the switch. Have tried pulling all fuses one at a time and the reverse bulbs stay on, only when pulling fuse C6 do they go off.

The wiring at the RHS light cluster looks ok to me, but the fuel tank is in the way so can’t see the LHS cluster wiring.

I’m a bit of a novice and this is my first classic mini, only just picked it up and absolutely loving it .. so be kind ?

Many thanks!!
Duncan

#2 sonscar

sonscar

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,717 posts
  • Local Club: none

Posted 05 March 2020 - 09:39 AM

Are the wires melted near the exhaust?Cheap easy check.Steve..

#3 dunkyb

dunkyb

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts

Posted 05 March 2020 - 10:34 AM

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the reply.  Would I be checking around the reverse switch wiring do you think, which runs very close to the exhaust?  

I know the wiring from the switch to the bulbs is Green/Brown, but guess something else must have melted onto one of these somewhere feeding it 12V ?

Duncan

#4 KTS

KTS

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • 2,254 posts

Posted 05 March 2020 - 08:26 PM

if the cables have melted as a result of contacting the exhaust, it should be fairly evident from a visual inspection (after cleaning all the crud off the wires of course)