Photo

Spi Engine Cuts Out Randomly

Best Answer Jilksy , 14 April 2020 - 12:35 PM

The fuel filter and inertia switch are now changed and it seems to have done the trick so a big thank you to all. In my quest to fix the problem I also changed the plugs and plug leads. when the old plugs came out one of them was definately not correct as it had half the thread length as the rest and so was operating in a little tunnel so the wee thing is now running much more sweetly.

Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Jilksy

Jilksy

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 31 March 2020 - 12:26 PM

Hi There I'm new to minis. Have had my sidewalk since october last year and on the engine so far I have replaced all the vacuum lines which sorted out all erratic running problems. mostly it runs fine but occasionaly the engine cuts out completely, if i am going at some speed often it will cut back in again before I come to a halt, but if it cuts while stationary it will not start again for a few minutes. the engine will crank over ok so I don't think the battery earth is at fault. I used to think it had something to do with the alarm/immobiliser but now i'm not so sure.  

Jilksy

#2 Quinlan minor

Quinlan minor

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Local Club: LSMOC

Posted 31 March 2020 - 12:42 PM

if it cuts while stationary it will not start again for a few minutes. the engine will crank over ok

When this happens, can you hear the fuel pump running (like it does when you first turn it on after it's been standing)?

#3 Jilksy

Jilksy

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 31 March 2020 - 01:21 PM

Thanks for your reply  I'm pretty sure that the fuel pump is running when it fails to start,

#4 RedRuby

RedRuby

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts
  • Local Club: No

Posted 31 March 2020 - 02:20 PM