Photo
- - - - -

Bulkhead Wiring Repair/replacement After Fire..

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Justin85

Justin85

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 15 May 2020 - 08:57 PM

Evening all, 

I have a new to me (new this evening!) 1991 Mini City. It's had a 1275 MG Metro engine fitted at some point. About 15 years ago, the engine backfired through the carb whilst it was being tuned and the foam insulation on the bulkhead caught fire. It was extinguished quickly, but the bulkhead wiring suffered as a result. 

The car has sat since then. I've only had it a couple of hours, but am looking for a bit of guidance on where to start please. 

Attached File  wiring 2.jpg   70.75K   9 downloads

I'm very new to Minis, but from a bit of searching on the web, I understand (maybe wrongly) that there is a rear wiring loom that connects to the main loom along the bulkhead. Is the blue circle on my photo where the rear loom joins in? Are they/were they bullet type connectors? 

What circuits do the inline fuses in the green circle serve?

And is the junction box in the red circle just a main power feed junction box from the battery? 

And where do i start?!?  O_O

Many thanks in advance, 

Justin. 

#2 KTS

KTS

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts

Posted 15 May 2020 - 09:06 PM

from the picture, I'd be considering replacing the front loom

Bullet connectors you've circled are where the rear loom connects to the front

the inline fuses should be for the hazard (and interior light) circuit and the rear foglight cicuit 

Edited by KTS, 15 May 2020 - 09:14 PM.

#3 pusb

pusb

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,216 posts

Posted 15 May 2020 - 10:01 PM

Evening all,