MacFreuden

Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
  • Local Club: none

Posted 22 May 2020 - 11:51 AM

Hi all,

So rebuilt the engine and slowly but surely it has started to burn oil, I'm a novice and have never done it before so kind of expected some issues, just trying to pin down what it might be due to its characteristics though....

When I change up a gear I get a puff of smoke and it then clears and doesnt smoke whilst under constant load, if I'm sitting idling for a few mins and I then drive away there is much more smoke than a puff but again it clears under constant load. It is quite a lot of oil as it spits it out over the boot lid after about a 10 or 15 mile drive.

I've been advised that this is indicative ofthe valve stem oil seals however I put four new ones on (intakes), and a machine shop put 8 new bronze manganese valve guides in with four new inlet valves for me. He then cut all 8 in.

Wondered if it could be the valves need re-lapping? New head gasket is needed? Or piston rings? Anything else?

Am going to do a wet and dry compression test this afternoon and so will update soon with results...

Cheers jonny

#2 MiniMadRacer

MiniMadRacer

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 850 posts

Posted 22 May 2020 - 01:48 PM

Does sound like valve stem seal / guide issues... do the compression tests then come back to us

#3 Cooper Mac

Cooper Mac

Mini Mad

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 218 posts

Posted 22 May 2020 - 02:22 PM

Sounds like the valve stem seals to me, but there should be 8 of them, one on each valve.

#4 MacFreuden

MacFreuden

Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 22 May 2020 - 03:07 PM

Okay I have done them and are as follows...

Dry -
1. 125
2. 127.5
3. 125
4. 128

Wet -
1. 131
2. 132.5
3. 130.5
4. 135

Am I right in thinking that these are a bit low but don’t show any issues with the piston rings as they are all near each other and near enough constant?