#1 Landyboy007

Landyboy007

Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 25 May 2020 - 11:27 AM

Hi,

What is the best primer used for the engine bay. I’ve stripped it back to bare metal, so etch primer first, then what is the best primer used for the top coat?
Thanks
Will

#2 sonikk4

sonikk4

Twisted Paint Polisher!!!

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,900 posts
  • Name: Neil

Posted 25 May 2020 - 11:32 AM

Epoxy primer

#3 sonscar

sonscar

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,725 posts
  • Local Club: none

Posted 25 May 2020 - 02:42 PM

The greatest benefits from epoxy primer is when applied to bare metal.It seems almost indestructible when cured.Steve..

#4 Landyboy007

Landyboy007

Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 25 May 2020 - 10:55 PM

So no need for etch primer? Also is that just a normal aerosol epoxy primer can? 2k? I don’t really know haha I’m new to this.
Thanks

#5 Furyan

Furyan

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 26 May 2020 - 12:30 AM

With respect if you're "new to this" then stay well clear of 2k paint in general as it can make you very ill indeed or even kill you, so not good.

Google it to see why and how to safely spray it if you insist on using 2k.

The good news is that epoxy primer is available in non 2k, 1k if you like, in spray cans if you don't have a compressor/spray gun set up, its not as tough as 2k but is perfectly acceptable to use. It still chemicals though and stinks so a decent mask and ventilation is still necessary  but you don't need a full air fed mask like 2k

As for epoxy primer brands I've used Novol 2k before and its good stuff so hopeful their 1k stuff will be good too, but I haven't used it personally, you can get it on ebay for around £13 a can, think its official title is Spectral 395 epoxy primer, remember its the epoxy primer bit you need to remember as they do acrylic primer as well.