#1 Meg15

Meg15

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 July 2020 - 03:44 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the mini forum and I've had my 1997 Rover Mini for nearly a decade now.

I know all minis have their idiosyncrasies: the dashboard clock on my mini has always gone backwards & I'd like to know if anyone here has some advice so it can show the correct time.

I have the Haynes manual & wonder if swapping the wiring connectors would solve the problem, but I would like to hear from anyone with some experience with this before I start messing with the wires.

Is it possible to access the clock without having to remove the dash board too?

Any suggestions would be much appreciated, thanks in advance!

#2 hulsmeier

hulsmeier

Mini Mad

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts

Posted 20 July 2020 - 09:59 PM

From memory the clock has three connectors. One is the light. And there should be a black (ground) and power, it sounds like they could be the wrong way around. Although I'm sure mine has slightly different connectors to stop this from happening.

#3 hulsmeier

hulsmeier

Mini Mad

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts

Posted 20 July 2020 - 10:01 PM

With regards to accessing the clock I'm sure you can only access it by removing the dash, which isn't too bad of a job, I've managed in the past to take the audio unit out and reach up through the gap

#4 Meg15

Meg15

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 July 2020 - 01:40 PM

Thanks very much for the suggestions  :proud:

#5 sonscar

sonscar

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,721 posts
  • Local Club: none

Posted 22 July 2020 - 04:17 PM

Generally with car electrics connecting them the wrong way around usually spells instant death,be carefully.Steve..PS not always your death.

#6 xrocketengineer

xrocketengineer

Rocket Man

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,637 posts

Posted 22 July 2020 - 07:49 PM