Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Pickup Rear Subframe


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 IronmanG

IronmanG

    Mini Mad

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: Crawley
  • Local Club: Box hill. Lsmoc member

Posted 20 July 2020 - 04:28 PM

My pickup is back! Finally.
So I started on the back subframe whilst I was in the mood.
It's all up in the air. Ramps at the front. Stands at the back just in front of the arches with a scaffold board.
Shocks are off. Brake lines disconnected. Loads of penetrating oil on anything that looks like a screw head
So question is what to do with the handbrake cable. What's the easiest way to get it out of the way?
Also how many bolts are there holding the subframe on. 4 at the back, 6 at the front?

#2 nicklouse

nicklouse

    Moved Into The Garage

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,247 posts
  • Location: Not Yorkshire
  • Local Club: Anonyme Miniholiker

Posted 20 July 2020 - 04:46 PM

Front and back mounts are the same. 2 bolts per mount.

 

un clip it.



#3 IronmanG

IronmanG

    Mini Mad

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: Crawley
  • Local Club: Box hill. Lsmoc member

Posted 20 July 2020 - 05:03 PM

As much as I normally appreciate your to the point posts as they make me laugh, un clip it isnt quite what I am looking for😂
Cant pull it through the quadrants so do you mean from the handle of the handbrake?

#4 MiniMadRacer

MiniMadRacer

    Mini Mad

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Location: Essex

Posted 20 July 2020 - 05:06 PM

What year is the pickup, i think some mount bolts might have been different lengths but Nick is right two for each mount.

 

I usually mount the bare subframe then bolt the other bits on after due to the damn weight of it all built up



#5 nicklouse

nicklouse

    Moved Into The Garage

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,247 posts
  • Location: Not Yorkshire
  • Local Club: Anonyme Miniholiker

Posted 20 July 2020 - 05:07 PM

ok so more info about the handbrake cable is needed.

 

what issue do you have other than it being in the way?

 

quadrants need opening to allow it to be unclipped.

 

subframe part needs opening up and the cable unclipping. presuming you have disconnected the ends from the back plate.



#6 IronmanG

IronmanG

    Mini Mad

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: Crawley
  • Local Club: Box hill. Lsmoc member

Posted 20 July 2020 - 05:31 PM

What year is the pickup, i think some mount bolts might have been different lengths but Nick is right two for each mount.

I usually mount the bare subframe then bolt the other bits on after due to the damn weight of it all built up


Its 1980.
Ok so strip it down rather than keep it together?
It is getting new radius arms etc

#7 RustyAutoCityE

RustyAutoCityE

    Mini Mad

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 20 July 2020 - 05:35 PM

When I dropped my rear Subframe I took the handbrake cable off from the lever end and worked back. It got it right out the way no longer being on the car.



#8 nicklouse

nicklouse

    Moved Into The Garage

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,247 posts
  • Location: Not Yorkshire
  • Local Club: Anonyme Miniholiker

Posted 20 July 2020 - 05:35 PM

 

What year is the pickup, i think some mount bolts might have been different lengths but Nick is right two for each mount.

I usually mount the bare subframe then bolt the other bits on after due to the damn weight of it all built up


Its 1980.
Ok so strip it down rather than keep it together?
It is getting new radius arms etc

 

if you are replacing the arms  then the cable can come of at any time. or just be cut and replaced. take pictures so you know how it all goes back together.



#9 IronmanG

IronmanG

    Mini Mad

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: Crawley
  • Local Club: Box hill. Lsmoc member

Posted 20 July 2020 - 05:37 PM

I have loosened the mounting bolts. No effort at all. Dont know what they should be torqued to but they felt loose they were so easy

#10 IronmanG

IronmanG

    Mini Mad

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Location: Crawley
  • Local Club: Box hill. Lsmoc member

Posted 20 July 2020 - 08:54 PM

Done. Stripped and ready for blasting. I didnt realise the brake cable had the bit on it that slots into the quadrant. I thought it was simply a cable that slid along the groove off the quadrant




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Mini Spares