Jump to content


Photo

Help - Several Spi Questions


Best Answer hunterg30 , 01 August 2020 - 07:28 PM

Change the vacuum pipes/elbows for three millimetre silicone hose/pipe . Cheap on eBay. Lasts longer than those stupid rubber elbows. I don't know the rovermems app I use an acr4 . Broken vacuum causes havoc, and is the reason for most of the running probs on the SPI Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#16 genpop

genpop

    Mini Mad

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Location: Poppenhausen

Posted 03 August 2020 - 11:04 AM

If it will not work then try mems-rosco from github.com/leopoldg/mems-rosco

You may download and then unzip twice.Within the new folder there is a presentation in english as pdf and powerpoint.You have to set the com port as well!



#17 RaLF020

RaLF020

    Passed Test

  • Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
  • Location: Fleet

Posted 03 August 2020 - 05:41 PM

kkeith, My ebay diag cable arrived today and I spent a couple of hours pulling my hair out trying to get it to connect (looks like we have the same fate here too).  I'm using MEMS-ROSCO which as genpop says you need to unzip twice (extract the .zip file and then extract the .rar file)

 

Initially i ran mems-rosco.exe file and it auto found COM3.  However the USB serial port is did not seem to be associated with any COM port.  Later I discovered another .exe file hidden in the bin file (readmems.exe).  After running this file the USB serial port is recognised by windows as COM4.  I opened mems-rosco.exe again and it now sees COM4 but it still reports an error when I hit connect!  I've moved a step forward but am clearly still missing something.

 

If anyone can help further with this i think theres at least 2 of us here that would appreciate it.



#18 kkeith

kkeith

    Stage One Kit Fitted

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Location: West Malling

Posted 03 August 2020 - 06:08 PM

kkeith, My ebay diag cable arrived today and I spent a couple of hours pulling my hair out trying to get it to connect (looks like we have the same fate here too).  I'm using MEMS-ROSCO which as genpop says you need to unzip twice (extract the .zip file and then extract the .rar file)

 

Initially i ran mems-rosco.exe file and it auto found COM3.  However the USB serial port is did not seem to be associated with any COM port.  Later I discovered another .exe file hidden in the bin file (readmems.exe).  After running this file the USB serial port is recognised by windows as COM4.  I opened mems-rosco.exe again and it now sees COM4 but it still reports an error when I hit connect!  I've moved a step forward but am clearly still missing something.

 

If anyone can help further with this i think theres at least 2 of us here that would appreciate it.

 

Hi, I got mine working now using both Rovermems.com (must have https:// before the URL and allow pops ups else you can't set the com port for the software to use) and memsfcr, which you need to select settings (I had to blind tab to mine as it was not showing on the menu) to set the com port to use. Also, go into device manager and make sure the serial port is working correctly and set to (in most cases) 9600, 8,1,n 

 

 



#19 kkeith

kkeith

    Stage One Kit Fitted

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Location: West Malling

Posted 03 August 2020 - 06:10 PM

If it will not work then try mems-rosco from github.com/leopoldg/mems-rosco

You may download and then unzip twice.Within the new folder there is a presentation in english as pdf and powerpoint.You have to set the com port as well!

 

 

Finally got the diags working - you gave me the clue in 'set the com port for the software to use' - it then needed the pop up to work and hey presto! Thanks for your help 



#20 kkeith

kkeith

    Stage One Kit Fitted

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Location: West Malling

Posted 04 August 2020 - 12:58 PM

Bit of an update. Changed all 4 vacuum leads plus the fuel trap. For a short while the engine was running lovely. The diags took a while to settle down but soon enough the MAP sensor was good and the Lambda was flapping from left to right as you'd expect. Then I noticed the coolant temperature was rising quite quickly to over 120. I turn the engine off and noticed coolant pouring out from under the inlet manifold. Any ideas what that could be? I'm thinking perhaps the temperature sensor leaking? I guess only way to tell is to get the inlet manifold off and look? I also noticed the fan on the wheel arch side hadn't come on - presumably linked? Strange that this only happened since changing the vacuums as wasn't leaking earlier! I feel like I'm getting close to a running car but also miles away! Thanks in advance

#21 kkeith

kkeith

    Stage One Kit Fitted

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Location: West Malling

Posted 04 August 2020 - 04:25 PM

Bit of an update. Changed all 4 vacuum leads plus the fuel trap. For a short while the engine was running lovely. The diags took a while to settle down but soon enough the MAP sensor was good and the Lambda was flapping from left to right as you'd expect. Then I noticed the coolant temperature was rising quite quickly to over 120. I turn the engine off and noticed coolant pouring out from under the inlet manifold. Any ideas what that could be? I'm thinking perhaps the temperature sensor leaking? I guess only way to tell is to get the inlet manifold off and look? I also noticed the fan on the wheel arch side hadn't come on - presumably linked? Strange that this only happened since changing the vacuums as wasn't leaking earlier! I feel like I'm getting close to a running car but also miles away! Thanks in advance

 

OK, sorted the leak - it was a slightly loose silicone hose going to the inlet manifold. 

The car seems to be ok now. Only annoying thing is the diags - Rovermems says all is well and the Lambda fluctuates from low/high constantly which is good. However, the Mems Fault Code Reader runs nicely for a couple of mins then reports a lamdba error. However, flicking back to Rovermems shows all is well. !! 



#22 RaLF020

RaLF020

    Passed Test

  • Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
  • Location: Fleet

Posted 04 August 2020 - 05:53 PM

Great that you got your diag working. Is the car running ok now, does it remain ok when fully up to temperature?  Are you intending to replace the Lambda sensor or are you going to run the car and see how it goes?  I've read so many posts saying that a failed CTS resulted in rich running which soon results in a failed lambda sensor. In most cases changing both sensors seems to resolve the issues. This scenario seems to be the 2nd most common cause for spi cars not running right.

 

I'm still trying to get the diag software to connect. I can't connect my old win7 laptop to the internet so I dont think i can use the rover-mems tool you are using.



#23 kkeith

kkeith

    Stage One Kit Fitted

  • TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Location: West Malling

Posted 04 August 2020 - 10:49 PM

Great that you got your diag working. Is the car running ok now, does it remain ok when fully up to temperature?  Are you intending to replace the Lambda sensor or are you going to run the car and see how it goes?  I've read so many posts saying that a failed CTS resulted in rich running which soon results in a failed lambda sensor. In most cases changing both sensors seems to resolve the issues. This scenario seems to be the 2nd most common cause for spi cars not running right.

 

I'm still trying to get the diag software to connect. I can't connect my old win7 laptop to the internet so I dont think i can use the rover-mems tool you are using.

 

Hi, my son drove the car for around 3 hours tonight stopping occasionally. All seems good so I'm thinking it was just the vacuums but I will keep an eye on it. Sorry to hear you are still having problems with the diagnostics. Which software are you trying? I would say check in this order: 

1. You are using the correct connector in the car - the cream coloured one not the green one.

2. You have the cable plugged in fully (it should only go in one way)

3. You can see the cable in device manager under ports (it will probably be shown as wither com1, com2, com3 or com4) and set to 9600,8,1,n

4. You can set the port in the software (will be somewhere in settings)

 

It took me a while to get it working but it was worth the hassle. 

 

I now have a screeching noise though - think it may be the fanbelt as I put a new one on and maybe haven't got the tension right. 

 


Edited by kkeith, 05 August 2020 - 09:23 AM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Mini Spares