#1 robot95

robot95

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 31 August 2020 - 09:54 PM

Hi all,

I recently acquired a '92 Cooper (carb) through my work and planned on driving it throughout the summer. This kind of failed as I only managed to drive a few 100 KM's due to a hydraulic braking issue as well as the clutch failing to disengage. So, therefore, I have decided to go ahead and start with my project involving backdating it to an MK1 Austin Cooper S!

The plan is to strip it, repair the rust, repaint it in a lovely 60/70s brown color with an Old English White roof, and install a few MK1 features. A few of the features I have in mind are: MK1 boot lid, MK1 rear lights, dummy external door hinges (please forgive me god), centre speedo, 70s recliner seats, Moustache grille surround, MK1 Austin Cooper Grille, Bumper over-rider with corner bars, Rose Petal wheels, Chrome wheel arch trim, double HS2 SU carbs.

This is my first project car and I know I still have to learn a lot. I am in no rush to finish the project quickly and rather do it propper than doing a half-ass job. I have started with disassembling my orange little mini and really enjoyed the process so far. The picture with the brown mini is the look or style that I am aiming at.

Let me know what you think! Have I forgotten any MK1 features that can be installed (easily) or should I leave one out?

Attached Files

#2 exuptoy

exuptoy

Super Mini Mad

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 674 posts

Posted 31 August 2020 - 11:13 PM

Not fussy on the idea of fake hinges but it's your project so do whatever you want.

I'll be watching for one.

Also I assume you mean chrome arch and sill trim? I for one hate chrome arch covers on a mini but chrome arch lip trim in your pic is a different thing altogether. 

#3 Tds76

Tds76

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 01 September 2020 - 03:53 AM