13 replies to this topic

#1 oohaargh

oohaargh

Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 03 October 2020 - 02:11 PM

I'm having problems with my SPi Mini Equinox stalling. It starts and runs absolutely fine until it decides not to, at which point it just dies (can either be idling or at speed).

It most commonly happens when I'm starting from cold - it usually runs for about 30s or so then dies. It then starts and dies straight away a few times in a row (not very enlightening video of this below :D), and on the 3rd or 4th restart it runs fine again. I then get 10-30 mins normal running out of it before it happens again. Giving it lots of revs doesn't make any difference - engine starts, revs go up, it dies off exactly the same from high revs.

I've had a trawl through the forums but haven't found much with the same symptoms. It's my first mini, so I'm still learning about it and I'd be keen for any pointers on how to diagnose the problem.

I tested the ignition coil and it was below the acceptable resistance range, so I've replaced that but hasn't solved the issue

Other things I can try:

- Replacing the vacuum hoses - nothing obviously wrong with them but fairly cheap and seems like a common issue

- Hooking up a fuel pressure gauge to see if there's a leak somewhere

- Get a fault reader - £145 seem reasonable? https://www.ebay.co....PI/284030975024 It's a fair outlay but seems like it might be a worthwhile investment?

- Trying a different fuel pump (bit expensive for a speculative fix though as I don't have a spare one around)

- ???

Any ideas?

#2 Pops_Guild

Pops_Guild

Speeding Along Now

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 363 posts

Posted 03 October 2020 - 03:33 PM

If youve not changed them in a long while then changing vac pipes is a must. They are a service item. If you haven’t done that then until you do so it’ll make all other diagnoses a nightmare. They are key to the smooth running of an SPI