#1 Lenhamracer

Lenhamracer

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 07 November 2020 - 08:17 AM

Hi,

I just bought new Koni rear shock absorbers for our Mpi sports pack Mini (lowered). Problem is, the top diameter is a bit too wide. They fit but it is not possible to center them in the top hole as the upper body of the  shock touches the bodywork. Would you leave them on or do I need other ones??

I attach a picture of the shock absorber, it touches the body marked by the black arrow

Thank you very much

Thomas

Attached Files

Edited by Lenhamracer, 07 November 2020 - 08:21 AM.

#2 YoungJon

YoungJon

Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Local Club: Leeds MG and ccc

Posted 05 March 2021 - 05:47 PM

Hi  I'm a newbie on the forum but this topic is one subject that is driving me nuts as I have had exactly the same problem . I purchased a full set of Koni's for my Sport pack recently . The fronts were fitted in no time at all but the rears have got me tearing what little hair I have remaining out !  I have been in touch with the manufacturer and he says that the rears are slightly different to the originals fitted by Rover but they should fit and had never had an issue with them. I then contacted the supplier of a well known Mini parts supplier and asked them if they actually fitted any Koni's in their workshop and was told ' err well no as they won't fit ' ! ! ! Well why the Feck do you sell them then ? ? ? In fairness to both the supplier and Koni I will be able to exchange them but for God's sake why have them advertised  on their web site ? 

If any one on this forum reads this , I would like recommendations for a good set a shockers for a standard set up . 

Cheers John 

Edited by YoungJon, 05 March 2021 - 05:50 PM.

#3 Cooperman

Cooperman

Uncle Cooperman, Voted Mr TMF 2011

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,036 posts
  • Local Club: MCR, HAMOC, Chelmsford M.C.