35 replies to this topic

#1 16vminiman

16vminiman

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

Posted 26 September 2004 - 01:04 PM

Helloooo.... i'm a newbie to this forum, just thought i'd let u know about my current project......

it is (was) a 1997 sportpack, all the usual rust areas (a-panels, sills, windscreen rail etc) were starting to go (or have gone), so it was taken off the road in late march this year.

plans are:

16v non a-series engine: vauxhall XE was my first choice, but looking into other options, eg bike engines. also looking into turbo'd power :cheese:

i was originally gonna do it front engined with the XE, but have since had a change of mind and i'm pretty certain i'm gonna be doing it as a mid engined RWD layout, possibly with a spaceframe chassis.

Full interior, eg soudproofing, leather buckets, carpets, etc, not stripped out.

i'm making slow progress at the mo, but reading thru f1 mini's turbo'd hayabusa project has sparked the fire in my belly again!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

it's gonna be a long term project, hoping to be finished in...may 2006!! (thats a realistic timescale... it think)

will post some pictures soon......

cheers

Paul

#2 16vminiman

16vminiman

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

Posted 26 September 2004 - 01:32 PM

update....

here's a before photo, a couple of months before it was taken of the road....

don't she look nice...

Attached Files

#3 16vminiman

16vminiman

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

Posted 26 September 2004 - 01:38 PM

and a current(ish) picture...

looking slightly less nice...... :sad:

Attached Files

#4 CharlieBrown

CharlieBrown

Crazy About Mini's

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,587 posts
  • Local Club: TMF

Posted 26 September 2004 - 01:52 PM

Seems a shame to do that with such a nice mini but it does sound a cool project!!!

Good luck!!

#5 16vminiman

16vminiman

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies