The Matt

You don't escape that easily.....

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,229 posts
  • Name: Matt
  • Local Club: Welsh Border Minis

Posted 01 November 2007 - 03:35 PM

Weeeell, where I work now has loads of perks (internet usage being one of them) and it's also something different.

BUT, I've got me a job interview at another place next Friday and I'm already having second thoughts about it! ;D

Basically, I'm a design engineer. Currently, I design inflatable buildings and also things like airships (blimps) etc. The job pays OK for the area, it's only 12 miles from home and it's, well, easy. Problem is that it's, hmm, kinda unprofessional here, it's so slack it's unreal sometimes! Perhaps it's more because I'm wound up with the place and notice it more though. :-

The other job is a mile away from home, same title 'Design Engineer' but more focused around one product range, rather than a nice variety of products (diversify or die and all that). So, if you had to make the choice between the two jobs, which would you go for?
  • Professional company that's potentially a tad boring, doing the same old thing day in, day out, but has annual payrises, 4 days per year more holiday and is 1 mile from home.
  • Non-professional company that's an infuriating place to work, the MD spits out bad (often racist) jokes all day. Payrises are few and far between, but because of that they're usually BIG ones. 12 miles from home on nice easy A and B roads.
That's assuming they like me in the interview and I actually have to make a choice! :teehee: :)

#2 mattyoung69

mattyoung69

TMF Moderator

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,110 posts

Posted 01 November 2007 - 03:46 PM

I would say it depends on working conditions at the new place - its all well and good for the move nearer to home and more payrises.

On the other hand, if the new place is boring/same thing all the time, could you stomach it?