10 replies to this topic

#1 funky_monkey

funky_monkey

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 March 2005 - 11:51 PM

I've been into cars for a long time but I'm a newbie at restoration. I'd like my first restoration to be a mini. Don't know much about it though.. I have a ton of questions so here goes:

Types
-I've been hearing a lot about the types of Mini's there are. What's the difference between a Morris Mini, Austin Mini, Rover Mini, and Mini Cooper?

Engine
-I'm planning to build from scratch, get a MkI chassis and Body, get a 1990's Injected Rover Engine for reliability and plug it in. Is this advisable? What kind of mini chassis and body should I get?
-Aside from turbocharging, what other engine modifications can you do to make the car go faster?

Suspension
-Is it advisable to get a replacement Japanese Hi-Lo suspension system? I've seen the original suspension(big rubber ball), it doesn't seem too good.

Brakes
-From what I gathered, the 10 inch disc brakes are favored to the 12 inch discs. Why is this so? Did I get it wrong?

Wheels/ Tires
-Is it just preference or is it better to get 10 inch wheels rather than 12 or 13 inch wheels?

Electricals
-How large of an alternator should be put in? Ill be needing juice for A/C, a substantial sound system, and 5-6 headlights(inspired by the Italian Job!) :))

Lights
-Are there HID headlamps and Angel Eyes available for the classic Mini?

I have tons more questions but thats it for now. I hope the experts here can help me out :wub:

#2 Guess-Works.com

Guess-Works.com

Gearbox Guru

• Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,838 posts
  • Local Club: Rugby Classic Mini Owners Club

Posted 07 March 2005 - 08:22 AM

Difference between types: Basically None, over the 40+ years of production it has been called many things. I could go into the details but at this level probably not necessary.