#1 scout027

scout027

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Local Club: None

Posted 08 March 2008 - 11:35 PM

Well i will try this again i screwed up my last try at posting. I have never used a forum before and i am new to the mini world. I have what i think is a 1987 mini RHD with a 998A+. The guy i got it from changed all the wiring but left pig tails of the original wires. he added a blade fuse block for switch power and used the original four block for direct power. i have traced every wire and everything works. The dash was replaced and he put in auto meter gauges but there are no warning lights. The Haynes manel diagram that matches the wire colors in the car is for a 1988-on carb model. There is a white wire form the ignition switch and a pink and white wire from the + on the coil. Now i know the white wire from the switch and the brown and yellow wire from the alternator make up the ignition warning light but the diagram shows a ballast resister from the white wire on the switch to the + side of the coil but the only thing there is the pink and white wire. So is the resister needed and if so what size is it? Also what kind of light is needed for the ignition warning light. I should mention that when he rewired the car he replaced all the original swithes with new rocker ones and there is on jumping from one thing to the next everything works indpendently. Well there it is can any body help. Thanks!

#2 Ethel

Ethel

..is NOT a girl!

• TMF Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,416 posts
  • Local Club: none

Posted 08 March 2008 - 11:50 PM

The pink and white wire is the resistor, there should also be a yellow/white wire on the +ve side of the coil connecting it to the operating terminal of the solenoid. Search for ballasted ignition for more info, but only use the proper ballasted coil unless you bypass the pink wire. Any small warning lamp should do for the ignition, about 1A.

#3 jayare

jayare

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member