#1 captain chaos

captain chaos

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 27 June 2005 - 06:13 PM

Hi all,

I'm here as a complete newbie to this mini lark and as a contributor to the Caterham club forum (Blatchat) I know how usefull and friendly these forums can be.

I'm about to buy a mini and carry out some restoration with my son who will inherit the car when he gets his license next year. Over the next 12 months we will restore the car together so he knows everything about maintaining it and I'll know that the car has been well prep'd and is Ok for him to drive.

I might aswell put my first question here if you don't mind...
The car I've spotted locally is an 1100 silver special (80/V). I'm not too concerned about the condition because it is going to be stripped and sorted I'm but more interested in lightly tuning the car for a few extra bhp.
I take it the 1100 is just a stroked 998 but when I look at the stage one packages and/or parts for sale in the mags, they all either quote 998 or 1275+.
I appreciate a longer stroke will usually inhibit revs, but extra cc usually gives a bit better torque and I'm not looking for a highly tuned motor. Does the 998 stuff just bolt on or am i starting with the wrong engine??

Many thanks.

#2 BabyBek

BabyBek

I love sheepies

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,212 posts
  • Local Club: TMF and South Wales Minis

Posted 27 June 2005 - 06:25 PM

Hello and welcome!!

I'm affraid I'm know nadda bout technical stuff, but I'm sure someone will be along soon who can answer u!!

Enjoy the site.

Beck x

#3 Jammy

Jammy

Moved Into The Garage

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,397 posts

Posted 27 June 2005 - 06:48 PM

Hey, welcome to the playpen!