17 replies to this topic

#1 Oscar1275

Oscar1275

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 13 September 2005 - 10:29 AM

Well, I wrote out a long spiel and the site swallowed it whole and now I have to write another one! I hope this isn't a bad omen....

Picked the car up last Friday and drove home 65 miles - a bit scary but got there in one piece. No back box (back firing sounds so much louder when it's only a few inches below your backside), no door mirrors, no brakes (well, token) and a reminder of how much it hurts your right leg driving a mini! I thought I'd get DVT it ached so much!

It's home though, so that's a good start. I'm no mechanic or body repairer so that's a bad next step. Steep learning curve for me but looking forward to it: I know, ask me in six months. I need to fit a new back box, door mirrors, dash, inner door panels, fix non-opening drivers window, new driver's side radius arm, fix horn, check and fix electrics and then work through the mechanicals. I'm sure the car will lovingly surprise me as I go! Buying a Haynes manual would help (Halfords didn't have one) and AA cover would also be reassuring!!

I must be crazy! I'm hoping you guys welcome new idiots on parade and the levels of moral support (or is that collective psychosis?) seem really great in this forum. If the guy who flashed and waved just outside Sleaford last week reads the forum, sorry for not waving back - did my grimace look like a wide grin by any chance?

Steven

#2 simong6

simong6

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 799 posts

Posted 13 September 2005 - 11:02 AM

hey welcome to the site matey!

just read what was wrong with yours and i thought you had secretly bought my car!!!!!

as i get told so so often welcome to the joys of mini ownership!!!!!!!!!

#3 Purple Tom

Purple Tom

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,921 posts
  • Local Club: TMF

Posted 13 September 2005 - 11:13 AM