Photo

My First Mini - What Do You Think? Can You Help?

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 MiniMadNox

MiniMadNox

Previously known as minimad1992

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts

Posted 17 August 2011 - 12:04 PM

Hey Guys,

I know i've already posted this, but i put it in the wrong section :shy: how "noobie".

I'm new to all this so go easy! I've just bought my first car which is a 1996 purple mini equinox which I've named The Nox, my favourite colour and car! can it get any better?

I paid £2000 for this stunner back in June, It seems to be in great condition for its age, but i don't know much about them yet.

I haven't passed my test yet but i am learning in it and it's so fun, I never want to drive a different car again! ( Hopefully i'll pass by October )

Anyway I have a problem! When i'm going at some speed ( around 30/40 ) it sometimes cuts out on me. I pull over and restart the engine and it starts first time always. Weird!

This weekend i am going to clean out and replace the stuff i think needs replacing. But i am not too sure what could be causing it to cut out.

I am going to replace the HT cables, spark plugs, distributer & cap.

But i am unaware of what ones to buy. My registration form says it was registered in September 1996 but in the manual it says it's made after October 1996. It has an electric ignition. (if that helps)

Can anyone help me as i want it to be running smoothly for when i take my test in it.

Here are some pictures of The Nox!

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Everything is standard at the moment, What do you think? Worth the money?

Cheers, James :D

#2 89mini-boy

89mini-boy

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 486 posts
  • Local Club: OXMOC

Posted 17 August 2011 - 12:12 PM

I haven't passed my test yet but i am learning in it and it's so fun, I never want to drive a different car again! ( Hopefully i'll pass by October )