Photo
- - - - -

What's The Difference Between Having A Carb And A Weber ?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 matthewrussell

matthewrussell

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 378 posts

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:21 AM

Hi,
yes i am a newbie and yes i might be stupid because im asking this question but, I've done 2 years in college in mechanic's and if I'm honest, we dint really learn much about carbs, we did it a few lessons but I was'nt there :(

one of my friends said to me that you should put a weber on your mini and me being me, I said yeh I will think about it lol I have no idea what a weber carb is and what modifactions I need to do to the car to fit one in ?

I have a classic mini cooper 1275cc that i'm doing as a project and I have also got a rover mini checkmate 998cc :) probs want to fit it to the checkmate.
Thanks

#2 mini-luke

mini-luke

Postman Pat

• Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,362 posts

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:27 AM

No point in fitting a webber to a standard 998, will just make it drink fuel. I do have to ask, what did you learn in your two years if you haven't yet grasped what a carb is?

A weber is a type of carb that won't actually fit without chopping holes in the bulkhead, which can get you in IVA territory.

#3 Turbo Phil

Turbo Phil

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • 2,418 posts
  • Local Club: Cumbria Classic Mini Club

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:47 AM

Fitting a Weber will not make it drink fuel. Correctly callibrated the carb only supplies what the engine requires. As long as the carb you currently have fitted is not a restriction, simply fitting a different carb will not require the engine to consume more fuel to make the same power, why would it ?
So basically if your current carb isn't a restriction you'll see little or nothing from fiting a Weber.

Phil.

#4 Mini 360

Mini 360

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • 4,933 posts
  • Local Club: Independent