nimeso

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 April 2013 - 08:19 AM

Hi all!

Any ideas/help would be great!

I cleaned up my carburetor on my 1971 Austin 1300 and started her up a-ok (in neutral... I think... she made no movement or grinding noises).

1. The settings were a bit wrong and the throttle was turned up to much.
2. At first I had a bit of blue smoke out the exhaust but figured it was the new paint etc etc.... she seemed to be fine and smoke slowly went away.
3. Turned her off
4. Went to start her up again and the gear stick is stuck in what feels like 1st or 2nd gear (I'm 99% sure I put her in 1st gear after the first run above)
5. I can push down the clutch and she will run a-ok... but still can't move the gear stick out of gear... feels jammed ... arrrrgh
6. when I start her without the clutch down she jolts forward like you would expect in 1st gear.

I'm just learning cars and any ideas/help would be great. Do I need to take the gearbox out to see what's going on? is there a easier way to find out what is wrong?

Thanks heaps!
Jamie

Edited by nimeso, 10 April 2013 - 08:21 AM.

#2 Mad Max

Mad Max

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 306 posts

Posted 10 April 2013 - 09:13 AM

What happens if you start it with clutch down and then try and pull away?.

Check that the linkages under the car havn't wedged against anything. How did the gearstick get into 1st/2nd gear?

Also what other work have you done to the car?

Abit more information and someone on here might be able to help.

#3 Guess-Works.com

Guess-Works.com

Gearbox Guru

• Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,838 posts
  • Local Club: Rugby Classic Mini Owners Club

Posted 10 April 2013 - 09:25 AM

Is it a remote gearbox or rod change ?

#4 miniman3003

miniman3003

On The Road

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts

Posted 10 April 2013 - 11:53 AM

My grandparents had a 1971 Austin 1100 for over 15 years so I got to know the model well.