2 replies to this topic

#1 Si-The-Man

Si-The-Man

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 June 2013 - 04:39 PM

Hi, I am a newbie on this forum but have had my mini for 5 years, slowly doing the suspension, brakes and working my way through all the breakdowns that come with buying an old car as my first and only transport. Things were looking good but an mot visit after 18 months of mechanical work turned out to be a disaster. A small amount of visiable floor pan rot has uncovered so much filler and previous bodges that it has turned into a weld- a- fon. New complete floor pans, cross member, door bins, door shut, front panel, valances, rear corner etc, all going wrong.

Any way trying to look on the bright side this should give another decade of life to my Clubby. When my car returns with the supersound floor I plan to paint the inside and it seems a good time to fit a cage (this was always the long term plan).

Hence my question, family Mini's in the past swore by safety devices and aley bars. But as a young timer these seem very expensive (no sign of aley bars). I want a full cage but there seems such a variation in price, some look like they are for show. Long term I would like to do some auto tests (non scruitineered stuff). Can any one help cut through the mine field of what is good and cheap, what is bad and cheap?, or just point me in the right direction please.

#2 keefr22

keefr22

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts

Posted 03 June 2013 - 05:05 PM