#1 29guitarman

29guitarman

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Local Club: FABMOC

Posted 08 August 2013 - 11:39 AM

Okay, so being an Electronic Engineering Student, i have been really interested in using some sort of Progammable interface (Arduino, Raspberry Pi, PIC...), and have a small screen or even touch screen to view music, radio, lighting, speed, temp... and so on.

Now i know a lot of this stuff is pretty simple if im honest, but wondering if anyone has had similar ideas?

I have seen that different screens have been put up for the same sort of idea, but im thinking a little simpler, with just the car on the screen?

I have thought of maybe using a tablet, making an app, then connecting a Raspberry Pi to it with all the info.. 

Just ideas at the moment, but if anyone has any ideas throw them out, would be interested to see what people think?

#2 mk1monster

mk1monster

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 287 posts
  • Local Club: Lowestoft Mini Club

Posted 08 August 2013 - 11:50 AM

hypothetically its possible,

for my land rover i'm toying with a "media centre" which is a retractable single din, touch screen running a raspberry pi.

the idea would be it would run:

Memory map for Navigation

MP3/Video player off of a USB Dongle memory card slot

Mobile Broadband off of said USB Dongle

FM radio input via the headunit

plus more?

now Android apps are available which can talk to ODBII input so hypothetically if you have a interface between the ODBII and the Pi you could interrogate the ECU/ECM and get a lot of useful data to display on the screen also.

#3 Ethel

Ethel

..is NOT a girl!

• TMF Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,448 posts
  • Local Club: none

Posted 08 August 2013 - 12:09 PM

How are you with Android?

There are lots of interesting micro computers appearing, with all sorts of graphics connections.

https://www.olimex.com/Products/

'n lots of stuff like this on fleabay, aliexpress...