5 replies to this topic

#1 min101

min101

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 May 2019 - 08:37 PM

Hi all. New to this forum and a total novice at electrical problems. I am in the final stages of restoring a 1986 Mayfair. Managed to get most of the electrics working but headlights, sidelights & fog-light not playing ball. Main beam flash on stalk works but no power seems to be getting to the dash switch for the lights. I have changed the switch and the 3-pin socket & wiring loom 'looks' OK but nothing happens when bridging the sockets with the switch removed. Fuses look OK in the main fuse box. Are there any other fuses related to the headlights that I have missed? The x2 in-line fuses on engine bay bulkhead above the carb' look OK, although one doesn't appear to be getting any power to it when checked with a test light. I have found another in-line fuse holder under the dash with a 3A fuse (radio?) but not spotted any others. Haynes manual talks about a dim-dip relay behind the instrument pod but I have had pod out and can't see any relay behind the instruments so I must be missing something obvious to those in the know. Any suggestions gratefully received as I have run out of ideas.

#2 cal844

cal844

Crazy About Mini's

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,486 posts
  • Local Club: TFMOC

Posted 10 May 2019 - 09:12 PM

Change the fuses and clean the terminals on the fuse box with some sand paper, id ask that you change the inline fuses too.

To test the fuses before fitting them, try gently twisting the ends, if they rotate bin the fuse, even if it looks whole internally.

I'd also make sure all the earth points are clean too, check and clean the wiring connections at the front (behind slam panel at alternator)

#3 Rorf

Rorf

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts

Posted 11 May 2019 - 05:35 AM