#1 nobbycameron

nobbycameron

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Local Club: .

Posted 26 November 2007 - 10:57 PM

Hello has anyone had any experience with these?

http://www.jonspeedr.../shop/index.asp

Ive got a 1380 stage 3 engine at the moment but was considering buying one of these kits.

Has anyone fitted one themselves?

Do you think an 11 stud head would be necesary?
How about gearbox mods, im running standard box and diff?

Any feedback would be appriciated
cheers

#2 The Matt

The Matt

You don't escape that easily.....

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,229 posts
  • Name: Matt
  • Local Club: Welsh Border Minis

Posted 27 November 2007 - 07:45 AM

I looked at this kit close up at the weekend (at the Malvern show) and talked to the guy on the stand about it.

He seemed a VERY knowledgable and friendly chap and the kit looked OK too. No bulkhead mods are required and the kit seems reasonably easy to fit. I have no experience of actually fitting one, but a mate of mine has (he may be along to post in here later). I told him that I was thinking of maybe charging my 1380 one day and he said that with my current spec and that kit I'd be looking at around 150bhp. In terms of bhp per £ it's a damn good piece of kit. I wouldn't want to run that much power through your standard gearbox to be honest.

I'd say it's worth talking to Jonspeed about it to be honest, they will be able to answer all of your questions. :lol:

#3 Turbo Phil

Turbo Phil

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,418 posts
  • Local Club: Cumbria Classic Mini Club

Posted 27 November 2007 - 07:51 AM

The Vmax kit is slightly more expensive, but i'd go with Vmax every time !

#4 Jake Blues

Jake Blues

TMF Moderator

• Members
  • 2,955 posts
  • Local Club: Central Minis

Posted 27 November 2007 - 07:51 AM

There has also been a number of other posts about this kit and replies from Carl at Jonspeed!