#1 biggav

biggav

Crazy About Mini's

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,830 posts
  • Local Club: South Central

Posted 02 December 2007 - 01:16 PM

My laptop is Fubard... kids stood on the screen and i have a crocodile clip and 2p coin applying pressure on the corner of it to stop it freezing....

Mhy wife has been looking at getting me a new laptop but i think i may be better off getting a PC connected up to my 50" plasma screen and a wireless keyboard... that way we can download/stream movies and music through our dolby 7.1 system... it's also right next to the home hub so could be wired up to superfast tinterweb.... so far, i've been looking at one of these....

keyboard

so i guess all i need is a Bare PC without keyboard or screen which has a good amount of memory, 7.1 sound card decent graphics?? etc... I'm a plumber and don't really know what i need..... less than £300 would be a bonus.

#2 tino

tino

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 793 posts

Posted 02 December 2007 - 01:54 PM

You could use this http://www.ciao.co.u...ter_PC__6541808 it works with more than just windows media center, although that will probably be the easiest to set up.

For a HTPC is it going to be hidden or on display? If its on display then does it have to look nice? There are a few good prebuilt ones but they tend to be in the £500+ range, you can make your own easily for under £300 if your careful with the components you put in, the only problem is the OS which if its windows can set you back at least £100 for a legit copy...

I would be looking at the lower prices AMD processors an AM2 Dual Core 4000+ should suffice, with http://www.silentpcr...e778-page1.html that motherboard as it has a HDMI output built into it. Also the audio offered on that isn't to bad a soloution although you can get alot better. Im sure someone who knows more about intel would recommend something similar. Also look at about 2gb of Ram at least.