#1 Rob Himself

Rob Himself

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts

Posted 24 April 2008 - 01:00 PM

Background

I'm not an expert. I'm not in the industry. I'm just a well-seasoned and reasonably experienced enthusiast.

I've seen so many threads repeating the same question, so I'm aiming to answer some of them here.
If I do come across as ultra-basic or patronising; forgive me. I'm just trying to write it from the perspective of a total newbie who knows nothing.

If you do have any questions - just ask! Failing that, get yourself over to talkaudio.co.uk!

Contents:

Edited by Rob Himself, 27 June 2008 - 01:02 PM.

#2 Rob Himself

Rob Himself

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts

Posted 24 April 2008 - 01:02 PM

Powercaps

Power caps are misunderstood things.

Many people believe that adding a cap will stop your lights dimming, make your system louder and add about 13bhp to your engine (...probably).

First, let's see what a capacitor is.
http://electronics.h...m/capacitor.htm

To summarise, a capacitor is similar to a battery, in that it stores electrical enegy. A good analogy used is:

One way to visualize the action of a capacitor is to imagine it as a water towerhooked to a pipe. A water tower "stores" water pressure -- when the water system pumps produce more water than a town needs, the excess is stored in the water tower. Then, at times of high demand, the excess water flows out of the tower to keep the pressure up. A capacitor stores electrons in the same way and can then release them later.

So all that caps do is store a small amount of energy, which is then released when required, the rest of the time it is charging.

When NOT to use a power cap: