Jump to content


Photo

Money Gram And Ebay


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#16 Minisniper

Minisniper

    Speeding Along Now

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Location: Shropshire
  • Local Club: Market Drayton Mini Club, Minis On A Mission.

Posted 05 September 2008 - 06:04 PM

Hiya
Definately a SCAM apart from searching google have a look in ebay help files, I read there somewhere that ebay tell you to avoid Money Gram and similar type payments, it was only a couple of weeks ago I read it and as it happens, the reason I read it was related to car sales. Hope this helps.

Minisniper

Edited by Minisniper, 05 September 2008 - 09:44 PM.


#17 Bungle

Bungle

    Original Spamster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,971 posts
  • Location: Cornwall
  • Local Club: cornish mini club

Posted 05 September 2008 - 06:13 PM

offer to pay euros when you pick the car up and see what response you get

#18 E11OOT

E11OOT

    Mini Mad

  • Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Local Club: www.harlowminiclub.com

Posted 05 September 2008 - 08:25 PM

nice choice of car!! but big time ebay scam!

if you are going to buy one make sure you HPI check the car, because many have been written off! And always view a v6 before buying!

visit www.cliosport.net or www.v6clio.net they have some for sale quite frequently and they have loads of knowledge of individual cars.....

#19 rocketbabydolls

rocketbabydolls

    Stage One Kit Fitted

  • Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

Posted 05 September 2008 - 09:55 PM

eep.

Don't even GO there with moneygram :|

I purchased a DSLR for about £300 a year ago off a shop via amazon, some guy claiming that he was in Italy and he had got this from liquidation stock or something? So i took the gamble and went to pay for it with my card and it was refused, well, more like the payment couldn't reach the sellers account because there was no such account? idunno it all got a bit confusing.

So he asked for a moneygram transfer with A) would have cost banana loads in processing fees anyway but B) he claimed he had already sent the camera off (???) So i forwarded Amazon the email i had got that looked like a genuine Amazon "method of payment / payment instructions" and they sent one back saying this is not a genuine amazon email and do not pay this way, even via a shop through amazon, they are not allowed to ask for that method of payment i think i was told.

You are basically giving your money to the post office to be transferred into their account so i expect there is little "proof" or method to get the money back. For all they know they could be claiming you were donating the money if that makes sense lol.

NAE a safe method of payment. No cover or anything.

#20 Oldskoolbaby

Oldskoolbaby

    One Carb Or Two?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,361 posts

Posted 06 September 2008 - 06:43 PM

Not being funny, I reckon Ive been sent the same thing but an Ebay type!!!! It looked a bit dodgy when I first see it. I'll try and post it on here for all of you to see as I'm 200% sure this was a scam.

Like I said yesterday though, thanks a million people. I personaly think that one of the moderators should put up a warning on the Ebay section about things like this.

#21 matt615

matt615

    One Carb Or Two?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts

Posted 06 September 2008 - 08:13 PM

There seem to be a lot of these scams on E bay at the moment. Most of the time the cars are advertised at well below their market value, and the seller will tell you this is because they need a quick sale because of family problems, or because they have just moved to a foreign country and don't want a right hand drive car.

If the price of the car seems low, and the seller won't let you view it then it is a scam! Ignore any nonsense they tell you about E bay guaranteeing the sale, and keeping the money until the car has been delivered. This is just not true, E bay does not do this.

Oldskoolbaby I'd advise you to change your E bay password. If you click on the 'ask the seller a question' button, or any other link, these scammers often link you to a fake E bay site and ask you for your password. Once they have your password they then use your account to make other scam listings. This makes their listings look genuine as they have all your postive feedback!

#22 sazal

sazal

    Up Into Fourth

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,512 posts
  • Local Club: DCMOC

Posted 06 September 2008 - 08:32 PM

Another thing, if you get any emails from ebay DO NOT sign into your account by clicking a link...these can be 'phishing' emails, where hackers can view your login details and then use your account :gimme: Go to onto the ebay site by typing it in and log in that way :gimme:

#23 Oldskoolbaby

Oldskoolbaby

    One Carb Or Two?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,361 posts

Posted 06 September 2008 - 09:44 PM

There seem to be a lot of these scams on E bay at the moment. Most of the time the cars are advertised at well below their market value, and the seller will tell you this is because they need a quick sale because of family problems, or because they have just moved to a foreign country and don't want a right hand drive car.

If the price of the car seems low, and the seller won't let you view it then it is a scam! Ignore any nonsense they tell you about E bay guaranteeing the sale, and keeping the money until the car has been delivered. This is just not true, E bay does not do this.

Oldskoolbaby I'd advise you to change your E bay password. If you click on the 'ask the seller a question' button, or any other link, these scammers often link you to a fake E bay site and ask you for your password. Once they have your password they then use your account to make other scam listings. This makes their listings look genuine as they have all your postive feedback!



This was exactly what i was told by the seller too!!! lol So its quite obviously a scam. Thing is, I actually never knew the car was on ebay. I actually found it on Pistonheads.com. It was only when he/she replied to my email that i was told it would be with drawn from ebay. I'm looking to pay between 12-15 grand for one of these V6 Clio's but this was a silly lo price. Just shows you, its not just ebay it happens to so be warned

Edited by Oldskoolbaby, 06 September 2008 - 09:45 PM.


#24 Shifty

Shifty

    Sponsored by Fosters (tm)

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,154 posts
  • Name: Sean
  • Location: Shropshire(sunny)
  • Local Club: TMF

Posted 06 September 2008 - 09:46 PM

As the old saying goes....

"if its too good to be true, then it probably is!!!"

eBay has become a joke




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users