#1 Ade-Cooper

Ade-Cooper

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts

Posted 25 March 2020 - 03:10 PM

Hi all,

I'm looking at starting my new project soon. I have a shell which is in considerably better condition then my current road legal mini, so plans are to re-shell.

My question is what equipment do I need and where do I start........

Shell is rolling, so strip down all parts and store is my first idea....

Next - I need a new front, and there are a couple holes (rust) in scuttle, and body....

Whats the best welder to purchase (complete novice)?

My idea would be too get the body perfect and prepped then have painted (the expensive bit) and exchange all decent bits from one to the other.

Most of you folks have done this before - so any advice would be massively appreciated!!!!!

Many thanks 

#2 MiddletoM

MiddletoM

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 25 March 2020 - 08:35 PM

Clarke 135TE will do all you need for a mini project. Mines now done two restorations and is going strong, it was second hand too! I would recommend finding a supplier for Hobbyweld Gas and get the Hobbyweld 5 cylinder. You pay something like £100 (dont quote me on that) for the deposit and first cylinder then its about £50 to replace the cylinder when empty. If you no longer need the hobbyweld cylinders you can get back the deposit when you drop off your last cylinder.

If you are prepping the body i would talk to the bodyshop who will be carrying out the painting. Some dont like picking up jobs that have been prepped by someone else because they dont know what products have been used and how their paints will react. They dont want the responsibility if something does react badly and causes issues after the paint job has been done. Talk to them and ask what they would recommend you use for fillers and primers.