#1 blair

blair

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 May 2009 - 04:11 PM

hi all,

i am a newbie to restoring cars so im looking for some advice, my mini requires new wings and front panel and was wondering if some of you more experianced mini restorers could help me by giving me hints and tips on how to do it. I will also be asking some other questions later on in the restoration, so be prepared :lol:

thanks, blair

#2 Saxo-Fiesta-Mini

Saxo-Fiesta-Mini

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,889 posts
  • Local Club: LCMOC

Posted 14 May 2009 - 04:17 PM

well i wouldnt call myself an expert but to remove the wings u need a spot weld drill bit drill out the spot welds on the inner wings and then cut the wings along wing near the a pilliar with the doors off and then u can do closer cuts once the wings are removed if that helps

#3 jjojjas

jjojjas

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 06:08 AM

I use a drill (any drill, about 8-10mm) then a chisel. I finish off with a grinder.
Some cut the whole thing off with a grinder, but thats too noisy & messy for me. If your unsure, then get some snips and cut the main part of the wing off then you can work your way around the remaining seam with a drill on the spots, then some pliars/grips to pull the edge off and then get the chisel in between whats left.
Not sure if I made much sense there?
Jas

#4 Fire_monkey

Fire_monkey

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 489 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 08:13 AM

Does anyone have a full guide on how to remove the wings?

#5 brianmini

brianmini

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Local Club: MiniClan

Posted 15 May 2009 - 08:35 AM

Does anyone have a full guide on how to remove the wings?

Yes.... :thumbsup: