18 replies to this topic

#1 aamir

aamir

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 June 2009 - 06:13 PM

hi im new at this whole car project thing, i have recently bought a mini austin which needs a lot of work, and i was wondering if i can put a VW VR6 engine into my mini.. can it be done? has it been done?

#2 Saxo-Fiesta-Mini

Saxo-Fiesta-Mini

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,889 posts
  • Local Club: LCMOC

Posted 29 June 2009 - 06:18 PM

Anything is possible

I am sure with fair bit of time and money. You can get it to fit, lets face it v8 minis exist so a vr6 engine shouldnt be too hard.

Ive seen 2 vr6 lumps in a lupo so this is thesable at the least

#3 aamir

aamir

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 June 2009 - 11:51 PM

Anything is possible

I am sure with fair bit of time and money. You can get it to fit, lets face it v8 minis exist so a vr6 engine shouldnt be too hard.

Ive seen 2 vr6 lumps in a lupo so this is thesable at the least

what sort of changes would i need to do to the mini's mechanical parts? what would i need to change for the vr6 to run well?

#4 Billy

Billy

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 907 posts

Posted 30 June 2009 - 06:49 AM

you'd need to fab a frame and use the vw wiring basicaly remake everything at the engine end
and I cant see how that bulky lump would fit in the front of a mini as the vw box is about half as wide as the mini engine bay
but I have to ask why the vr6 its not that great or reliable infact its a bit like a k series for head gaskets Lol

#5 aamir

aamir

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 June 2009 - 10:21 AM

you'd need to fab a frame and use the vw wiring basicaly remake everything at the engine end
and I cant see how that bulky lump would fit in the front of a mini as the vw box is about half as wide as the mini engine bay