23 replies to this topic

#1 inyk

inyk

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 09:49 PM

Hi I have a 1995 (dec) Mini Sprite Auto...

Over time the battery will drain and the car will eventually fail to start... so we have tried the following...

1) new battery - still runs flat
2) New Alternator (45 amp) - still fails to charge
3) 2nd replacement alternator - still fails to charge
4) checked earth strap - all okay - but still no charge...

I am not technically minded so am running short on ideas as to what else it could be...!

I would be very grateful for any hints / tips or suggestions as to where I go looking next...

Shout if you need to know more and apologies if this is posted incorrectly...

#2 m1tch

m1tch

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,044 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 09:56 PM

Hi I have a 1995 (dec) Mini Sprite Auto...

Over time the battery will drain and the car will eventually fail to start... so we have tried the following...

1) new battery - still runs flat
2) New Alternator (45 amp) - still fails to charge
3) 2nd replacement alternator - still fails to charge
4) checked earth strap - all okay - but still no charge...

I am not technically minded so am running short on ideas as to what else it could be...!

I would be very grateful for any hints / tips or suggestions as to where I go looking next...

Shout if you need to know more and apologies if this is posted incorrectly...

How tight is the belt?

#3 mars red mike

mars red mike

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,500 posts
  • Local Club: Bodge Speed Racing

Posted 21 July 2009 - 09:58 PM

Do you mean if the car is left standing for a significant amount of time then when you try to start it the battery is flat or does it go flat even if the car is used everyday

#4 inyk

inyk

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 09:58 PM

[
How tight is the belt?
[/quote]