5 replies to this topic

#1 marky r

marky r

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 October 2009 - 07:19 PM

right guys im an apprentice hgv mechanic i work for my dad but do cars aswell sometimes. and iv been itching to drop an engine in my cooper iv had on the drive for about 9 month now whilst iv been finishing a mayfair off which will be getting taxed and tested and sold within the next few week. it looks like a 2L 16v redtop id do an Let engine but there more expensive and would i even get one in a roundnose cooper? realistically how much am i looking at for the conversion iv already got the car and its solid enough. id need the engine running gear and subframe etc. what a sensible budget?

#2 HARBER07

HARBER07

Up Into Fourth

• Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,498 posts
  • Local Club: Naaa......

Posted 15 October 2009 - 07:28 PM

Would be a fair amount of work to get one under a standard roundnose as it is. Cost would depend on whether you make your own subby etc. or buy one from Allspeed for about £350 + VAT. Would still need driveshafts, mounts, powdercoat frame, and adjustable suspension arms at decent quality. Alspeed do this minus driveshafts for about £710 (ish) + VAT. Also remember you WILL need a brake upgrade. I'm doing the same conversion right now, and budgeting for about £5.5k. Will probably be near on £8k by the time I've finished the car though.

Also remember with current enforcement, an IVA test may be necessary. I'm trying to build mine to IVA standard though anyways.

Edited by HARBER07, 15 October 2009 - 07:30 PM.

#3 RacingGreen

RacingGreen

Up Into Fourth

• Traders
  • 2,111 posts

Posted 15 October 2009 - 07:33 PM

I doubt very much you would get an LET under a standard round nose, with the allspeed from you cant get an XE under a roundnose, so an LET would be worse.