6 replies to this topic

#1 monkeyboy

monkeyboy

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts

Posted 19 December 2005 - 12:28 AM

Hello to everbody, im lee and im 22 and im now about to be taking my driving test, so i'm looking for my first car.
With parctically no knowledge of minis or cars for that matter, i was wondering if anyone could could shed any light on a good model of mini that i should be lookin for.
I've got about 19 years motorbike experience behind me, and a workshop as well.
So any advice on easy to tune models would be fantastic.
cheers to all lee :grin:

#2 Guess-Works.com

Guess-Works.com

Gearbox Guru

• Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,838 posts
  • Local Club: Rugby Classic Mini Owners Club

Posted 19 December 2005 - 01:01 AM

To be honest they're all pretty much the same. but if you want one to tune, first go for one with a carb, not the later injection ones. ( Some may say I'm slightly biased :cheese: )

Assuming you're going for performance, then a Disk brake equipped model would be better than drums. All minis 84 > have disks as std on the front (all have drums on the rear) but a number of pre 84's will have had a disk conversion of one form or another done, and it's not expensive if you stick with 12" or bigger wheels.

Bodywork condition should be one of you higher priorities as welding consumes a lot of time and effort ( and cash if you cant weld yourself ) you will find than 70's and early 80's models are on the whole in better condition than later 80's/90's, this is mainly due to the quality of the metal used.

Finally the engine, 998's are fun and will take to tuning very well but you can get to the point where the cost of tuning and power gains, are outstripped by a conversion to a 1275 based unit, and of course rebores of the 1330, 1380, 1430 etc etc... this is where relatively cheap power can be achived.

That's your starter for ten... happy hunting...

#3 monkeyboy

monkeyboy

Mini Mad

• Noobies