198 replies to this topic

#1 Nathan94

Nathan94

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 12:15 PM

Hi guys, I'm new to minis and after hours of searching I seem to have stumbled across what I believe to be a bargain.

It's a 20 year old Mini Thirty which has been off road for the last 8 years I believe and kept garaged. On the pictures the boot and the wings/a panels don't seem rusty and apparently it starts and drives and was fully working whenh put away. My question is, if I went to look at it, what am I looking for? And also what problems could there be with a Mini that has been stood for 8 years? Will parts of the engine need lubricating and oiling and would it need new tyres?

Oh and I could afford maybe £300-£400 to get it running and I'd like to have a shot at fixing it myself (never been near an engine before!)

Thanks for your help in advance! :)

#2 1994alex

1994alex

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 655 posts
  • Local Club: None yet :(

Posted 27 December 2011 - 01:22 PM

When i have been looking at cars lately i have ripped the carpets up to see if there is any rust in the floor pans, ran my hands firmly under the arches to see if it is rusty also along the underneath of the car. Also around the seams of the car, mainly around the roof section. Check if the engine has seized, and if the handbrakes and brakes have too as it will be a pain in the bum to move.

Im sure others have ways to check

Alex

#3 Nathan94

Nathan94

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 01:27 PM

When i have been looking at cars lately i have ripped the carpets up to see if there is any rust in the floor pans, ran my hands firmly under the arches to see if it is rusty also along the underneath of the car. Also around the seams of the car, mainly around the roof section. Check if the engine has seized, and if the handbrakes and brakes have too as it will be a pain in the bum to move.