#1 nagrub

nagrub

On The Road

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted 14 February 2006 - 06:29 PM

Hello there, long time no post I know.

I need a little help, My car isnt really working very well, and i'm no mechanic by a long shot. my car suffers from really bad pre ignition. (thats when I turn off the ignition... but the engine doesnt want to die, right?) This has'nt been much of a problem for a long time but just lately a more severe problem has raised its very ugly head.
Often when I am driving I cant accelerate as I would like, If I am in gear and I put my foot to the floor, or anywhere past about 1third/halfway down the engine completely redlines. Its like i'm flooring it in neutral, this means that I cant really accelerate in my car. When the car revs really hard like this, the power isnt going to the engine. Its tricky to get past 40-45 mph. Its strange that this doesnt happen all the time at all though, when i'm driving, its like a switch is flicked and suddenly my car is like this.

Quite often the car will stall when i'm slowing and shifting down though the gears, say, coming up to a roundabout. Occasionally its very hard to get the car in gear too.

My car needs alot of choke to get going, and it requires it for a long time. The whole choke is dodgy as hell, I use the 'old clothes peg' to keep it out.

so, what do I need to do? I need to take my car to get sorted, as i'm completely useless with this kind of stuff, but I know its gonna cost me- a whole load of money that I just dont have. I was thinking that the engine needs tuning really badly, but i'm not sure. I dont think its my throttle cable sticking or anything, as that happened before and it was a different kind of problem.

I live in Maidenhead, and I was wondering if anyone knew of any cheap places I could go near me to try and get it fixed. (huge emphasis on cheap!) The only snag is that I cant really use motorways with my car like this...

help.