197 replies to this topic

#1 mrthumb

mrthumb

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 144 posts

Posted 31 March 2012 - 12:46 PM

Hi guys, I was thinking at what point do I start my page? I guess nows a good time. I have a 1972 mini clubman and a fresh b16a2 lump. Im currentley saving for a final drive and subframe from Watsons. Im a welder fabricator by trade and have a small workshop with lathe etc so i hope to make this a decent build. my problem is i dont really know a great deal about cars. this should be a learning experience for me.

Im at the stage now where i got the motor out and im cleaning it up. is there some important things i need to do at this stage?

modify master cylinder? new seals, what should i save from the old car? i have the loom complete.
swap the altinator back to front, hmm what else? thanks!

Attached Files

#2 KieranB

KieranB

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 360 posts
  • Local Club: S.U.N.M.C

Posted 31 March 2012 - 08:27 PM

good luck with the build fella, the clubby looks really good already, hopefully give it justice when your done :)

#3 mrthumb

mrthumb

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 144 posts

Posted 31 March 2012 - 11:27 PM

yea it looks oright from the outside, but after you spend out on these things you realise whats wrong with them. i went there thinking i was going to buy a rust free £3650+ car that aparantley had no major body work, the seals and floor had been completley replaced, the welding was good but i raised my eyebrows in certain places. no effort was made to prevent the heat from bending the adjacent panels. also it leaks very badley, the floor had some bad rusting because of it which i have repaired, theres paint blistering up in lots of little places where the aprentice stevie wounder was hired to do the prep work prior to painting.