Photo

Hi, Newbie Here; Going To Buy A Mini And I Have A Few Questions...

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 easytiger

easytiger
  • Noobies
  • 0 posts

Posted 13 August 2012 - 09:35 PM

Hi all, hoping to trade on the benefit of your experience; doing things the right way around (for a change) and joining a club BEFORE buying :) I drive an alfa 147 atm, really love it but it's hefty on fuel and I'm starting an MSc in Sept so I need cheap-ish insurance and good fuel consumption and also some reliability.

I have two kids still in booster seats and I also need, if possible, to get a folding bike in the back/roof/boot (although, frankly, I'd rather walk than have a soul-less eurobox). Is a bike rack possible or will a folding bike fit in the boot or on back seat?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

#2 hawky443

hawky443

Mini Mad

• Traders
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Local Club: The Mini Clan

Posted 13 August 2012 - 10:21 PM

A mini really depends on how much you spend, I found this out the hard way! You've defiantly done the right thing "Inquire before buying" took me 2 years to find the right car for me but no matter how ill it is I wouldn't change a day! :)
There is plenty of help on here, for any problems encountered and if the guys on here cant diagnose they will point you in the right direction
Posted Image
Picture from a previous post

#3 Noah

Noah

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,136 posts
  • Local Club: Essex Mini Club

Posted 13 August 2012 - 10:24 PM

Right,

Reliability: Get a late model MPi Cooper, look for either restored ones or expensive ones, they're bad for rust. But on the trade of that they have the desirability of standard leather interior and airbag. Due to them being fuel injected like modern cars they are very reliable and you don't have to worry about fiddling with the choke or replacing distributor parts. They also have the auto inertia rear seat belts which is nice.