Photo

Very Serious Bodywork Problem (Also Cost £1600?!)

• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 Lancaster

Lancaster

Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 10:50 PM

Hey It's me again!

Remember my A panel replacement thread? http://www.theminifo...ment-cost-l500/

Well we sent it in for repair and the mechanic has taken the front wing off to repair the damage and found what appears to be a *%&$ load of rust and work that needs doing, I need some advice.

This is my first time I've put my car in for repairs so I'm a little sceptical as are my family.
He's saying that it's going to cost us roughly £1600 (also £200~ for general MOT which is to replace both front brake discs!?) to fix it by plate welding or something, fit a new front wing and A panel and spray paint both the wing and A panel.

What're your thoughts on this, I'll include some photos of my Mini taken by him, printed out and taken with my phone. (Click for Larger)

Full Size: http://imgur.com/Xq4P2eA
Posted Image

Full Size: http://i.imgur.com/wS5mrDI.jpg
Posted Image

#2 iMurray

iMurray

Mild Cheddar

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,396 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 10:51 PM

thats so impressive.... ha...

over priced look elsewhere. i paid 1500 for a full repsray and rid of any rust, which was in the rear arches...

#3 richw911

richw911

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,084 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 11:26 PM

You will need this panel http://www.minispare...|Back to search

Fair bit of work to fit.

#4 Noah

Noah

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,136 posts
  • Local Club: Essex Mini Club

Posted 26 February 2013 - 11:31 PM

Thats a reasonable price, for that amount of work.

Thats the flitch/door hinge panel, so that needs a hole replacement, chances are the other side is gone as well, so that side needs a full rebuild by the looks of it.