#1 JonnyAlpha

JonnyAlpha

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,744 posts
  • Local Club: Exmoor Minis

Posted 21 June 2013 - 09:28 PM

Hi I am about to remove my rear subframe to finish off some rear boot floor repairs and in anticipation that there will be some rot in the rear panel behind the sub frame I bought some rear sub frame mounting repair panels (Mini Spares MS51R or MS51L) . Anyone got any tips on how to line these up before welding to ensure that the subframe fits when.it goes back on??

#2 filski

filski

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Local Club: Essex Mini Club

Posted 21 June 2013 - 09:40 PM

Hey Bud, Im an amateur but  I did similar thing. However  i went with the whole panel.

Depending on how you doing the welding i did mine with my mini on its side, so i went on to attach the subframe and the panel then spot welded it in place then took the subframe off to finish the welding and then reattached the subframe to make sure it fitted.

here is a pic, id suggest to get a mate to help out. 

IMG_0033_zpsd520e03a.jpg

#3 Carlos W

Carlos W

Mine is purple, but I have been told that's normal

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,110 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 09:42 PM

I did exactly this too

#4 chrisj

chrisj

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 283 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 09:48 PM

You could replace the panel in two parts, first of all take plenty of measurements using different reference points.

Remove the subframe, cut out half the panel then bolt up the new half panel to the subframe, re mount the subframe to the original panel that's still in place and then check all of your measurements and tack in the new panel, by leaving half the original panel in place it should give a good indictation of position, remove subframe and weld up. Repeat for the other side if needed.