#1 Spider

Spider

Moved Into The Garage

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,948 posts
  • Local Club: South Australian Moke Club

Posted 19 December 2014 - 10:16 AM

Hopefully this thread is not opening up a can or worms. I know many of you guys have your own way of doing or having done these tasks and I’ve of little doubt that what you guys do works for you. I also know that there are some Professional Engine Builders here who may chip in with their 2c (2p?) worth.

I am not an expert, I’m still learning like the next guy, however I did over a period well over 15 years while earning a living repairing Minis and Mokes, recondition many engines in that time, including some competition engines. Although I no longer earn a living doing this stuff, I am still actively doing it most days! So this is from some of my own experiences .

I don’t do my own machining in house, however I have been blessed in recent years to have full access to an engine machine shop and so when time permits, I do my own machining there or when it doesn’t, I give the guys very specific instructions on what I want done.

I’ve started this thread after receiving a PM from a member here regarding having an engine bored, after doing a few searches, it seems that this info isn’t on the forum, so apologies in advance if this has already been discussed elsewhere.

Before getting in to this, there a couple of points I’d like to say that I feel shouldn’t be forgotten, I guess kind of Philosophical Points if you like;-

1. If the Machining done isn’t up to scratch (or just plain poor), then there is no part in the world that you can screw on to your engine to correct or over come this. Think of the machining as a foundation of a building, if the foundations are crook, then the building will never be right. The foundations – machining – has to be right before starting to assemble.