#1 ryomini

ryomini

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 583 posts

Posted 10 July 2015 - 06:13 AM

Yop

trying to get my head around understanding rebuilding a dead mini for a budgetish fast street mini

I have never done some of this before

I want to try straight cut gears

I want to ask lots of stupid nooby I haven't been there before questions

firstly is there some already available clear and simple info I can follow for this ?

second do I just replace gears on the input output shafts ?

do I keep the standard ratios ?

can I keep reverse as non straight cut (don't intend to go fast backwards ;) )

is it better to stick to 4 rather than put in a 5 speed ?

is it better to keep 4 as non straight cut ?

what is a reasonable budget for maximum do it yerself ?

all this for a fast street mini

thanks

#2 Dusky

Dusky

Crazy About Mini's

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,322 posts

Posted 10 July 2015 - 06:44 AM

If you are building a street mini i would keep the stransfer Gears helical.
The rest depends on your desired spec and budget.

#3 Spider

Spider

Moved Into The Garage

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,936 posts
  • Local Club: South Australian Moke Club

Posted 10 July 2015 - 07:12 AM

Usually, before looking at alternate gears ratios, you need to see what gearing your engine would need or what best suits it.

In an ideal world, the difference between each ratio would be selected such that - for example - as the engine reaches Peak HP in 2nd, then shifting in to 3rd, would put you right on Peak Torque in the Engine's Power Band, same for 3rd to 4th. Same would apply to 1st gear, but it is usually a little lower than this ideal.

In a Road going engine, these two points in the Rev Band are much wider apart than is the case on a Race going engine. This is why on a Race Car, they run closer ratios.

In the Mini Drivetrain, there are several sets or groups of gears;-

Transfer or Drop Gears