11 replies to this topic

#1 jc_kasabian

jc_kasabian

On The Road

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 23 July 2015 - 08:04 PM

Looking to get some more power out of my mini, just a bog standard 1275 spi engine which has been converted to carbs with a wiring loom replacement and hif44 carb with straight through exhaust on lcb manifold.

I am considering building or buying a 1330 or 1380 fast road engine but this is at a large expense so may start with a cheaper option to begin with. 

what do people recommend the best modifications are to get decent power upgrades? 

Im not really fussy about the price as long as its not ridiculously priced. 

I've currently got a deal in place where i can get a 1380 fully rebuild engine and box with 100bhp+ for £1600 plus my 1275 paying an £800 deposit then £800 on collection a few weeks after. what do people recommend? i am fairly new with mini's and first time working on a car but just finished my first project and after being on the road for a few weeks I'm wanting to upgrade for more power and better brakes.

currently got standard 12" set up with 2 pot callipers, solid discs and cheap pads. any recommendations on the best brakes for the best value? I've got a yellow band master cylinder and not running a servo. 

was thinking on converting to metro 4 pots, anyone done this and got any advice? heard a few good things about these brakes being a lot better than standard especially since I'm going for a fast road mini.

Thanks a lot in advance for any replies and advice as its highly appreciated.

#2 Anthony30

Anthony30

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,466 posts
  • Local Club: N/A

Posted 23 July 2015 - 08:10 PM

Go with KAD 4 pot calipers if you have the money. Metro 4 pots are surprisingly heavy, but look so nice through my 12'' Rover minilte alloys. I think they stop the car quicker, but that might just be me.  :highfive:  :shy:

#3 nicklouse

nicklouse

Moved Into The Garage

• TMF+ Member