Photo

Bleeding Brakes !

Best Answer ClassicAsh , 15 June 2016 - 05:21 PM

Scary stuff indeed and you are right to warn to be wary of things, Luckily I have only replaced a component that mirrors the original apart from being that little bit longer. The car is in its final stages of rebuild after a restoration so once its done it will be off to the MOT station to be tested so I would hope that any problems with the brakes will be spotted by them. Being an engineer myself who has repaired various hydraulic pressure valves etc, I am reasonably confident that's it should be fine.... famous last words eh !  and if it causes any brake problems I will be sure to replace it .... then scratch my head again why it wont bleed lol... watch this space !

Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ClassicAsh

ClassicAsh

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 139 posts

Posted 12 June 2016 - 04:49 PM

Hi all. any advice on bleeding the mini brakes (1995 mini cooper spi). I have replace most of the components in the braking system, full new copper pipes, new discs, refurb calipers, new brake pistons, new master cylinder  etc etc etc, following the instructions in the Haynes manual, front brakes  bleed fine and work a treat, however I cant get fluid to the rear brakes at all, if I crack open the T piece at the rear sub frame there is no sign of fluid.. I looked and cleaned the brake pressure reducing valve that's is bolted to the bulkhead, fluid is present at the two in ports, and at the out port for the front brakes, but not at the out port for the rear brakes. However if I remove said valve and use an air line the ports are open and air passes through fine.... I am assuming that this valve must be faulty, even if it does seem to work with air line pressure... so before I bite the bullet and buy a new valve does any one have any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

#2 brivinci

brivinci

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip