42 replies to this topic

#1 leigh21

leigh21

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts

Posted 15 February 2017 - 07:11 PM

So I've had this idea for a while now and I found a back end of a mini on eBay for £65 and so it began! Here's what I picked up last week
IMG_6492.jpg

IMG_6494.jpg

IMG_6495.jpg

I had a hour on it this afternoon and the rust bug has hit it pretty hard so I've decided to cut out the floor and make a frame from box section and weld the panels to that, at least that's the plan at the minute. So here's what's left
IMG_6552.jpg
Now I'm only a novice at this sort of thing but as long as it can withstand a bit of wind and a few sausages then I'll be ok ;) progress will be a little slow for the next week or so but after that it'll be full steam ahead!

#2 dyshipfakta

dyshipfakta

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,696 posts

Posted 18 February 2017 - 12:02 AM

Cool I like it. What's going to be the lid? Would make a pretty good pizza oven with the boot lid lol

#3 leigh21

leigh21

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts

Posted 20 February 2017 - 11:14 AM

I'm thinking about making a polished concrete worktop to go on it with the bbq in that,

#4 leigh21

leigh21

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts

Posted 25 February 2017 - 03:20 PM

So i imagine there's a few people thinking I'm nuts, but bear with me! I got out in the garage this afternoon after getting some welding gas and had a try on some scrap bits as I haven't used the welder for about 2 years :/ first attempts were well let's say not great, after having a play about with the settings I started getting a little better IMG_6634.jpg
upload image
Still room for improvement I think.
After all the messing about I managed to repair the bottom of the rear quarter with a piece of metal i cut from the parcel shelf IMG_6631.jpg
upload image

IMG_6632.jpg
upload image