9 replies to this topic

#1 300bhp/ton

300bhp/ton

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 10 October 2006 - 02:59 PM

Been looking at the re-built gearboxes and there's a big choice of final drive ratio's.

1. What gearbox would be correct? I think the Clubman GT had a close ratio gearbox? Does that mean a replacement from here: http://morspeed.co.u...nigearboxes.htm would have to be the £650 striaght cut version as opposed to the £350 one?

2. What's the difference between straight cut and a regular close ratio?

3. What recommendations do you have for final drive? I'm thinking along the lines of a 1380cc engine, with S4 head and a Kent Supersports 286 cam. Would be running 165/60R12 tyres. I think stock is 3.4 although I can't see that listed on Morspeeds website. Would 3.9 be overkill? Maybe 3.7?

4. Do you recommend a gearbox from Morspeed? Alternatives please.

Sorry for so long a post, but as you can guess I'm a newb at this. :proud:

Edited by 300bhp/ton, 10 October 2006 - 03:01 PM.

#2 miniboo

miniboo

Lord of Original Thinking

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,327 posts

Posted 10 October 2006 - 03:47 PM

I think Guessworks is best to answer this one.

#3 clubman katie B.F

clubman katie B.F

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,524 posts

Posted 10 October 2006 - 03:52 PM

I think Guessworks is best to answer this one.

i concur.....guessworks is our resident gearbox wizard, have heard nothing but good reports on his gearboxes

#4 Bungle

Bungle

Original Spamster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,971 posts
  • Local Club: cornish mini club

Posted 10 October 2006 - 04:00 PM

try this untill guessworks finds you

#5 Jammy

Jammy

Moved Into The Garage

• Members
  • 25,397 posts

Posted 10 October 2006 - 06:51 PM

A search should reveal all the answers to your questions! :proud:

#6 fikus01

fikus01

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• Members